If you're a licensed driver, sufficient car insurance is vital. But how much Louisiana car insurance do you really need?
Everyone's insurance needs vary. But you don't want to have an accident and find out too late that you're underinsured.
That's why InsureMe wants to help you find the policy that works for you. Just tell us what you're looking for and we'll find top insurers who can help you determine just how much Louisiana car insurance is warranted in your situation.
Don't just buy the Louisiana car insurance you think you need. Contact InsureMe today, and find out for sure!
According to Louisiana state law, drivers must carry at least 10/20/10 Louisiana car insurance coverage—in other words, $10,000 liability coverage per person per accident; $20,000 total liability per accident and $10,000 property damage per accident.
But most insurers recommend raising these minimums considerably for your own protection. If you or a family member is involved in an accident, whatever your insurance doesn't cover will be your financial responsibility. This can become financially devastating.
What Louisiana Car Insurance Is…and Is Not
It Is Not…
Keep these things in mind when searching for the right Louisiana car insurance.
What to Look For
When comparing Louisiana car insurance policies, it is wise to look for:
Your Louisiana Department of Insurance can tell you if an insurer has any consumer complaints filed against it. They can also make you aware of an insurer's A.M. Best rating, which reflects the company's financial strength and standing.
Take advantage of these resources by contacting them online at www.ldi.la.gov, or by phone at 800-259-5300.
Preparation is the key to finding the right Louisiana car insurance policy for the right price. And there are a few things you can do to prepare for your Louisiana car insurance shopping experience.
Consider following these guidelines to find the best coverage:
Recent studies show Louisiana ranks fourth in the number of teenage driving fatalities. Additionally, one in every four teen drivers in the state is involved in an accident—a staggering statistic. Therefore, it is imperative to make sure your teenagers are covered with plenty of Louisiana car insurance.
According to the Louisiana Department of Insurance, two factors work against young drivers: inexperience and immaturity. Beginning drivers need time to learn that responsible driving includes making wise decisions, as well as mastering driving skills.
That's why Louisiana participates in graduated driver licensing, a way to require new drivers to pass through a three-stage process before progressing more slowly to full-time driving privileges. This practice, along with plenty of Louisiana car insurance, helps ensure their safety as they learn.
Graduated driver licensing restricts when your teens may drive and who may accompany them. This allows them time to gain much-needed on-the-road experience in controlled, reduced-risk settings. It also gives them time to become older and more mature before getting their full-privilege driver's license. In the mind of your Louisiana car insurance company, this means less risk of accident and less risk of car insurance claims.
Talk to a licensed Louisiana car insurance company for more details on insuring your new teen drivers.
Find the Policy That Works for You
Getting the right Louisiana car insurance policy takes some time and research.
Why not let InsureMe do the work for you? We can put you in touch with leading insurers offering some of the best Louisiana car insurance policies around.
Take just a few minutes to submit your information today. What have you got to lose but those high premiums?