Even the safest driver runs the risk of occasional accident. But Tennessee car insurance provides a shelter from the unexpected when you need it most.
Let InsureMe help you find that shelter. Our relationship with hundreds of providers gives us access to the Tennessee car insurance quotes you need. Just enter your information into our secure system, and let us match you with leading insurers—almost instantly!
Shelter yourself from unnecessary risk. Let InsureMe shop for your Tennessee car insurance today!
Tennessee car insurance is designed to protect you and your passengers from the financial results of a car accident. You pay a premium (or fee) for this protection, and your payments ensure financial protection for a specific period of time.
You usually purchase your Tennessee car insurance in increments of either six months or a year. If the premiums prove more than you can handle, ask your Tennessee car insurance company if you may pay a portion monthly. Although this may add an interest charge to your payment, it may also prove easier on your budget.
Tennessee Car Insurance & the Law
While you are strongly encouraged to purchase Tennessee car insurance, it is not required.
But if you're pulled over for a moving violation or are involved in an accident, you do have to prove financial responsibility. This simply means you have the resources to pay for any damage or injury resulting from your negligence.
Most Tennesseans chose to purchase liability insurance, the barest minimum you must buy when you buy Tennessee car insurance. Liability consists of:
If you decide to buy Tennessee car insurance, you must purchase at least the following amounts of liability coverage: $25,000 bodily injury per person; $50,000 bodily injury per accident; and $10,000 property damage. This is often referred to as 25/50/10 coverage, and represents one of the lowest minimums required in the fifty states.
If you have assets to protect, you should consider higher levels of Tennessee car insurance. Although higher coverage limits mean higher premiums, the extra cost usually proves relatively low.
Policy Rates & Coverage
Your Tennessee car insurance provider sets your premium based on the driving records and statistics of all the licensed drivers in your household. Therefore, if your teen driver has tickets or has been involved in an accident, it will affect everyone else's car insurance rates.
Tennessee car insurance companies also use these factors to determine your car insurance premiums:
Your Tennessee car insurance plan covers anyone who drives your car with your permission, whether living in your household or not. If you loan your car to a friend and an accident results, your policy covers the damage to the other driver or drivers involved. In addition, if your policy involves collision protection, your own vehicle and the person who borrowed your car are also financially protected.
Remember to list all licensed drivers living in your home on your Tennessee car insurance policy. This provides everyone the coverage and protection they need.
Cancellation & Nonrenewal
Failure to pay your Tennessee car insurance premium means you place your coverage at risk for termination. License suspension or revocation also provides reason for your insurer to cancel your coverage.
Sometimes it's better not to file a claim if you can find a way to affordably pay for the damage yourself. Filing even one Tennessee car insurance claim may put your policy at risk for nonrenewal.
The fewer claims you file, the less risk you pose to your insurance company-and the less you pay for your premiums.
Make sure you handle your Tennessee car insurance responsibly to ensure long term, active protection.
Compare & Save
Shelter yourself and your family from financial disaster with Tennessee car insurance. Apply for your free quotes now and save!